Darren Steinberg of Dexus Is The Urban Taskforce Property Person Of The Year For 2019

The 2019 Property Person of the Year is Darren Steinberg the CEO of Dexus says the Urban Taskforce.

Darren Steinberg is a distinguished leader of the Australian Property industry, with a career spanning 30 years across property management, leasing, development, fund management and now at Dexus where he has been CEO for the past seven years,” said Urban Taskforce Chairman Peter Daly.

“As CEO, Darren has led Dexus to an impressive position, building the group to $31.8 billion funds under management and managing a portfolio of properties across the Australian office, industrial, retail and healthcare sectors. Dexus’s portfolio now includes 53 office properties, making it the largest office owner and manager of office properties in Australia.”

Urban Taskforce CEO, Chris Johnson, said: “Darren is a very worthy recipient of Property Person of the Year and follows an impressive series of winners including Harry Triguboff of Meriton, Lang Walker, Greg Goodman, Ross McDiven from Multiplex, Steve McCann from Lendlease and last year’s winner Justin Hemmes from Merivale Group. All of these people have contributed in exceptional ways to the Property industry in Australia.”

Through Darren’s leadership, Dexus has developed global award-winning properties including 5 Martin Place in Sydney, 480 Queen Street in Brisbane, Kings Square in Perth and the recently completed 100 Mount Street in North Sydney, with a number of major city-shaping projects underway or in the pipeline including 80 Collins Street and 60 Collins Street in Melbourne, the Pitt and Bridge Street Precinct in Sydney, the Health and Education Precinct in St Leonards, and the Waterfront Precinct in Brisbane.

“Darren is a committed advocate for the Property industry and its importance to the Australian economy, and has made a strong contribution as former two term National President of the Property Council of Australia and a founding member of the Property Male Champions of Change.” said Chris Johnson.

The Property Person of the Year award will be presented to Darren Steinberg at a dinner on 28 November, which is also an opportunity to raise funds for two important charities that are the Warrah Society and St Vincent’s Prostate Cancer Centre. Over the past 16 years, the Property Person of the year event has raised more than $2.5 million for the two charities as well as significant work in kind particularly for building works at the Warrah Society.

Darren Steinberg


Previous winners

  • 2003  Harry Triguboff AO
  • 2004  Lang Walker
  • 2005  Liam Ford
  • 2006  Bill Moss AO
  • 2007  Greg Goodman
  • 2008  Wal King
  • 2009  Harry Triguboff AO
  • 2010  Bob Rose AM
  • 2011  Gary Rothwell
  • 2012  Ross McDiven
  • 2013  Steve McCann
  • 2014 Tony Perich AM
  • 2015  Iwan Sunito
  • 2016  Joe Khattar AM
  • 2017  Sarkis Nassif
  • 2018  Justin Hemmes